Thoughts on having children

Could I ever consider myself a moral individual if I choose to condemn an innocent and defenseless child to the potential horrors of life? From heartbreaks to boredom, stale memes to depressions, the abhorrent things that you experience in life are innumerable. Can I ignore these things, pretend like I haven’t given them any thought and just give birth to a child? Of course not. Unfortunately for me, I can’t forget on command. I have to face these questions. This is gonna be tough.

So first off, is life that bad? I’m not going to pretend that I have the definitive answer to that question since that would be (paraphrasing Schopenhauer) taking the limits of my field of vision for the limits of the world. I haven’t experienced enough to know what the world has to offer, but if I had to give an answer, it would be no. Life isn’t that bad when you take into consideration the wonders of art, sport, friends, alcohol and a fulfilling job.

Second, is giving birth to a child sentencing him/her to death? Yes, saying otherwise would be a logical fallacy. Once you bring a child into this world, you are condemning the child to an unavoidable death. So I need to take that into consideration.

“We have lost, being born, as much as we shall lose dying: Everything!” – Emil Cioran

Third, do I regret being born? While entering a state of non-existence after I die is a terrifying thought, being in a perpetual state of non-existence without any outside interference doesn’t seem that bad. You have nothing to lose, no deadlines to meet, no people to disappoint, you don’t have to think about anything (since you can’t think)… Maybe my future child is just happier the way he/she already is. Just being nowhere. Goddamn. I think they’re happier the way they are.

Yeah, I’m adopting. I’m not going to force anyone to exist without their consent, that’s just rude. But I can take a child from an unfavorable socio-economic background and offer her a better life, with access to useful education (for example). And I’m adopting a daughter: girls usually have fewer chances of being dumb and starting a FaceBook meme page. (from personal experience).

Leave a Reply

